Pastoral Board of SA

The Pastoral Board of South Australia is a statutory authority responsible to the Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation for the administration of the Pastoral Land Management and Conservation Act 1989. The objects of the Act are:

  • To ensure that all pastoral land in the State is well managed and utilised prudently so that its renewable resources are maintained and its yield sustained;

  • To provide for: (i) the effective monitoring of the condition of pastoral land; (ii) the prevention of degradation of the land and its indigenous plant and animal life; (iii) the rehabilitation of the land in cases of damage.

  • To provide a form of tenure of Crown land for pastoral purposes that is conducive to the economic viability of the pastoral industry.

  • To recognise the right of Aboriginal persons to follow traditional pursuits on pastoral land.

  • To provide the community with a system of access to and through pastoral land that finds a proper balance between the interests of the pastoral industry and the interests of the community in enjoying the unique environment of the land.

  • To provide for the operation of wind farms on pastoral land, concurrently with the land being used for pastoral purposes.

The Board's strategic direction and priorities are guided by the Board's Strategic Plan.

The operation of the Board is guided by the Board's Governance Charter.

For the latest Pastoral Board news, see the Board's communiques.  

The work of the Pastoral Board is supported by the Pastoral Unit.


The six Pastoral Board members are appointed for a three year term and come from a range of backgrounds and have extensive knowledge of the administrative, environmental and economic pastoral issues faced in the South Australian Rangelands.

Member Deputy
Geoff Mills (Presiding Member) Vicki Linton
Ann Barclay Leah Freuerherdt 
Andrea Tschirner  Trevor Naismith 
Mark Fennell  Ann Oldfield 
Keith Slade  Jenny Treloar 
Kathryn Bellette  Greg Johnston

2018 meetings & public forums

  • February 22 (Adelaide)
  • May 3-4 (Gawler Ranges, meeting with regional public forum)
  • June 20-21 (Port Augusta, joint meeting with SA Arid Lands NRM Board)
  • August 30 (Adelaide)
  • October 25 (Eastern districts, meeting with regional public forum)
  • December 13 (Adelaide)

Contact us

Pastoral Board of SA
GPO Box 1047
Adelaide SA 5001

Pastoral Board enquiries
Phone: 8124 4735

Manager Pastoral Unit
Phone: 8124 4957

Lease assessments
Phone: 8463 4826

Lease inspections
Phone: 8648 5346 or 8463 4347

Lease tenure
Phone: 8463 3281

Public access to pastoral lands
Phone: 8648 5346

Related links