SA Murray-Darling Basin Natural Resources Management Board

Our role

The South Australian Murray-Darling Basin Natural Resources Management Board is responsible for the development of the Natural Resources Management Plan for the region. This Plan is developed and delivered in partnership with the community and stakeholders, and aims to ensure that there is a balance between the needs of people and the environment. The Plan sets targets for the environment and sustainable use of natural resources in the region, and is delivered by Natural Resources SA Murray-Darling Basin through a diverse range of programs and projects across the region.

Our vision

Our vision for the region is 'a healthy living landscape meeting the social, environmental, economic and cultural needs of the community, and ensuring the rights and wellbeing of future generations'.

Our members

Meet our board members! Read a detailed profile of each of our community based board members. 

Position Name
Regional Manager Rhona Parker-Benton
Presiding Member  Sharon Starick
Member Owen Love
Member Deana Mildren
Member Nick Bakkum
Member Kim Blenkiron
Member Rodney Ralph
Member Peter Duggin
Member Kerry Simcock
Member Gioia Small
Primary Industries and Regions SA representative Gerry Davies
Primary Industries and Regions SA representative Timothy Smythe
Local government Andrew Kassebaum
SA Water representative Peter Forward

Upcoming meetings

SAMDB NRM Board meetings are open to the public, who are welcome to register their attendance by calling the Board’s Berri office on 08 8580 1800, or by email:

Upcoming meeting dates for 2016 are listed below:

  • November 24
  • December 15

Board Communiqués

Annual reports