Authorised Officers

A network of Authorised Officers located across the region has been established to ensure early detection and rapid response to pest incursions. Authorised officers assist landholders with their pest plant and animals management and ensure landholders are fulfilling their obligations under Natural Resources Management Act.

The Act states that it is the responsibility of the landholder to control pest plants and animals on their property, including roadsides. They are also responsible for the sale or movement of pest plant and animals.

Authorised Officers are here to help and pride themselves on their knowledge, expertise and strong relationships with local landholders, industry and the community. They can assist in a variety of tasks. Please note, some services provided may be fee-for-service.

Authorised Officers can provide:

  • Information such as weed identification or explaining your responsibilities
  • Advice on weed control such as best eradication methods or best time of year to tackle a weed.
  • Publications and factsheets
  • Carrying out compliance activities.
  • Boom spraying - small acre, low volume chemical application for declared plant control
  • High volume spraying - hand lining and spot spraying for declared plant control
  • Mechanical weed control - grubbing, cut and swabbing, burning of declared plants.
  • Bio-control.

 If you need assistance with pest plant or animal control, please contact our Authorised Officers or call 08 87351177.

Upper South East Authorised Officers

Upper South East District Manager Bill Hender
PO Box 138, Keith 5267
8755 1621
0407 082 379
bill.hender@sa.gov.au

Upper South East Team Leader Kym Haebich
PO Box 138, Keith 5267
8755 1620
0408 811 392
kym.haebich@sa.gov.au

Bordertown Authorised Officer Neville Staude
PO Box 346, Bordertown 5268
8752 2964
0417 859 080
neville.staude@sa.gov.au

Keith Authorised Officer Tony Richman
PO Box 138, Keith 5267
8755 1083
0418 893 165
tony.richman@sa.gov.au

Tintinara Authorised Officer Jon Forrest
PO Box 138, Keith 5267
8755 1083
0427 808 204
jon.forrest@sa.gov.au

Kingston Authorised Officer Roger Davidson
PO Box 321, Kingston 5275
8767 2077
0428 856 478
roger.davidson@sa.gov.au

Meningie Authorised Officer Sid Frankling
PO Box 26 Meningie 5264
8767 2077
0427 808 206
sid.frankling@sa.gov.au

Lower South East Authorised Officers

Lower South East District Manager Ross Anderson
PO Box 1046, Mt Gambier 5290
8735 1174
0429 698 170
ross.anderson@sa.gov.au

Lower South East Team Leader Anton Kurray
PO Box 1046, Mt Gambier 5290
8735 1242
0428 252 612
anton.kurray@sa.gov.au

Lucindale Authorised Officer David Robertson
279 Smith St, Naracoorte, 5271
8762 0199
0419 807 946
david.robertson3@sa.gov.au

Naracoorte Authorised Officer Josh Rosser
279 Smith St, Naracoorte, 5271
8762 0199
0427 957 856
joshua.rosser@sa.gov.au

Penola Authorised Officer Alan Robins
27 Arthur St, Penola SA 5277
8737 3308
0409 420 823
alan.robins@sa.gov.au

Millicent Authorised Officer Saxon Ellis
PO Box 27, Millicent 5280
87303 510
0428 854 611
saxon.ellis@sa.gov.au

Mt Gambier South Authorised Officer Andrew Shepherd
PO Box 724 Mt Gambier 5290
8721 0451
0408 802 971
andrew.shepherd3@sa.gov.au

Mt Gambier North Authorised Officer Deb Lang
PO Box 724 Mt Gambier 5291
8721 0421
0400 188 094
deb.lang@.sa.gov.au

Robe Authorised Officer Dean Burgoyne
PO Box 1, Robe 5276
8768 2003
0408 854 602
dean.burgoyne@sa.gov.au

For more information on each of our Authorised Officers, their focus and their contact details, download an Authorised Officer Contact Sheet here.


Related links

More information

  • Natural Resources South East
    08 87351177