Can't load Plugin Seamless Script Manager

Natural Resources Management Groups

District-based Natural Resources Management (NRM) groups provide an important link between local communities and the SA Arid Lands (SAAL) NRM Board. NRM group members are local people who ensure that there is community input into the development and delivery of the NRM Plan for the region. NRM groups also help people in the community to care for the environment and use natural resources sustainably by building awareness, skills and networks.

There are six NRM groups in the SA Arid lands region:


Group meetings are held at regular intervals across the region. If you have any queries about the groups, please contact the relevant Community Engagement Officer.

If you would like to know more about our District Groups and becoming a member read our fact sheet, or contact the Natural Resource Centre on 8648 5300.

Group members

Gawler Ranges

Name Contact details
Kate Greenfield (Chair)
Rick Barratt (Board rep) 
Mark Sutton (Board proxy)  
Denise Sharp
Lesley Koch
Alistair Dermer
Scott Michael  
James Kerr
Brenton French  
Proxies: Amanda Michael, Andrew Oswald  
Chris Fulton (Community Landscapes Officer) 8648 5376

Gawler Ranges Newsletter

Winter 2019


Name Contact details
Clint Taylor (chair)
Murray Tyler (Board rep)
Jan Ferguson (Board proxy)
James Barry
David Hunter
Tina Law  
Proxies: Jessica Barry, Kate Taylor  
Glen Murray (Community Landscapes Officer)

8648 5310

Kingoonya newsletter


Name Contact details
Janet Brook (Board rep)
Rick Barratt (Board proxy)
Jayne-Marie Barnes
Frank Warren
Alex Nankivell  
Mark Mayfield  
Lyn Litchfield  
Craig Oldfield  
Josh Haynes  
Proxies: Gina Reick, Arthur Ah Chee,   
Lucy Goldspink (Community Landscapes Officer

8648 5903


Name Contact details
Jacqueline Williams (Chair)
Mark Sutton (Board rep)
Ellen Litchfield  (Board proxy)
Alice Taysom
Francesca Fennel
Joel Kowald   
Caroline Thomas
Cameron Williams
Greg Warren
Proxy: Christine Lennon  
Sarah.Stevens (Community Landscapes Officer) 8648 5389

North Flinders

Name Contact details
Jan Ferguson (Board rep)
Glenise Coulthard (Board proxy)  
Ian Ferguson  
Lesley Nicholls
Norton Warnest
Ngatina Purnell-Webb
Reg Wilton  
Teresa Brady   
Jonathon Sanders   
Proxy: Glenys Aird  
Matt Westover (Community Landscapes Officer) 8648 5385

North East

Richard Williams (Chair)  
Jan Ferguson (Board rep)  
Glenise Coulthard (Board proxy)  
Byron Crawford  
Nick Rasheed  
Terrance Coulthard  
Sanchia Treloar  
Kurt Tschirner  
David Sawers  
Matt Westover (Community Landscapes Officer)

8648 5385

Soil Board plans

Prior to the community-based NRM Groups and the community-based SA Arid Lands NRM Board, each of the districts in the SA Arid Lands region had a community-based Soil Conservation Board. The SAAL NRM Board recognises that many in the region still utilise the information in the Soil Board Plans and the information continues to inform planning processes around the SA Arid Lands Regional NRM Plan.