Meet our members

Mark Whitfield has been appointed by the Minister for Environment and Water as the Presiding Member of the Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board.

His role will be to support the establishment of the new Landscape Board and implement the government’s NRM reform agenda.

Mark Whitfield has also been appointed to oversee the Eyre Peninsula NRM Board as a single member board up until 1 July 2020. This will involve administering the Natural Resources Management Act 2004 in the lead up to the commencement of the new Landscape South Australia Act 2019.

This arrangement ensures certainty and a smooth transition for communities and land users across the regions, with current NRM services continuing to be delivered as normal until new the Act officially commences.

Following 1 July 2020, the NRM Act and Board will no longer exist and be replaced by the Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board, with Mark Whitfield as presiding member. For more information visit

mark whitfield presiding member photo



Mark Whitfield

Presiding Member, Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board

Mark has lived in Whyalla since 2001, working as a consultant with community organisations and small not-for-profit organisations. Previous to this he worked as the Executive Manager of the Spencer Gulf Rural Health School.

He has also worked in a number of other roles in regional development, health and education in Whyalla, the Eyre Peninsula, in the far north of the state and in local government.

He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and an associate fellow of the Australian Institute of Management. Mark has also volunteered on a variety of community organisation boards and currently a member of the Flinders and Upper North Local Health Network Board and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

He is the immediate past Presiding Member of the Eyre Peninsula Natural Resources Board.