Can't load Plugin Seamless Script Manager

Advisory groups

With its wetlands, floodplains, forests, lakes and estuary, the River Murray is unique and of enormous value to Australia. It supports diverse plants and animals, many of them rare or endangered and includes numerous wetlands of international importance.

Several restoration programs are underway to help the river recover from the 2006-10 drought and to build its resilience should water become scarce again in the future. Strong partnerships with with the local community are critical to the success of the projects. Through a number of advisory groups, communities are encouraged to provide advice to project planning and implementation.

See our fact sheet on community involvement in the Coorong, Lower Lakes and Murray Mouth (CLLMM) region.

Aboriginal involvement

Several Aboriginal partnership projects support the active, long-term participation of Aboriginal people as the traditional owners of the region.

In the CLLMM area, we work in partnership with the Ngarrindjeri Regional Authority, which includes Ngarrindjeri Nation communities, Ngarrindjeri native title claimants and the Ngarrindjeri Heritage Committee. Engagement occurs through the Kungan Ngarrindjeri Yunnan Agreement (KNYA) Taskforce and smaller working groups.

Community Advisory Panel

This group provides advice and guidance on drought recovery and restoration projects in the CLLMM region.

The panel has brought together a wide range of community knowledge and expertise to feed into the on-going works being undertaken by the state and federal governments.

Membership of the panel is voluntary, with successful nominees initially appointed for a one-year term. Panel meetings occur bi-monthly.

Current members include Bill Paterson (chair), Karyn Bradford (deputy chair), Neil Shillabeer, Clem Mason, Trevor Harden, Emily Jenke, Glen Jones, Colin Grundy, Perry Gunner, Chris Bagley, John Crompton, Keith Parkes, Gary Hera-Singh, Lorraine Leese and Paul Harvey. A representative of the Ngarrindjeri also attends each panel meeting.

For more information about the panel, please call 08 8463 6808 or email 

Scientific Advisory Panel

This group provides technical advice and recommendations about the CLLMM area to support The Living Murray and other monitoring and management programs. It is chaired by the director of River Murray Operations and Major Projects, Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources (DEWNR), and comprises scientists and managers from DEWNR, the Environment Protection Authority, the University of Adelaide, Flinders University, CSIRO and SARDI Aquatic Sciences.

The panel meets four to five times a year to exchange information on the latest water resource outlook and provide advice on water birds, aquatic vegetation, macroinvertebrates, fish, frogs, water quality, groundwater, acid sulfate soils and ecological processes. Additional input is provided where possible into related programs for coordination of river, floodplain and wetland management decisions.

Lake Albert Community Reference Group

This group was established in December 2012 to support community input into the Lake Albert Scoping Study. The study investigated the feasibility of various management actions to manage salinity in Lake Albert and culminated in an options paper. The group was briefed on the findings of the options paper on 17 September 2014 and discussions at this meeting were recorded in the meeting minutes.

The group acts a conduit between the Government of South Australia and the broader community and its main focus is providing project information to the community. The group is a sub-committee of the Community Advisory Panel described above and also has representation from local government, Ngarrindjeri Regional Authority and the local irrigators association.

Related links

More information

  • Coorong & Lower Lakes Recovery team
    Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources; Reply Paid 1047; Adelaide SA 5001
    08 8463 6808